Wuttup??!

Can’t believe it has been  such a time since my last post!!! Life has been good I guess. To be honest, I can’t really complain. :) I just had 5 days break…less in the paycheck, but heck that’s why I only work 28 hours a week! I love being able to not have to work 40 hours (does that sentence even make sense…). Granted my bank account would be much appreciative, but my mind and soul are reaping the benefits. In the end, to me that’s what matters: a relatively carefree life, in the sense that nothing is too important. I neither have too little nor too much money and everything is calm and happy for the most part.

Except now I have to really start thinking about a job down south. Total procrastination.

So the Saturday before this past one was fun! I met up with 3 friends I hadn’t seen since my Mary Washington days…about 5 years. They came to my place and then we went to check out campus after all these years. OMG!!! The changes are just unbelievable to me!!! It felt like the same school, except not! I should’ve taken pictures…where’d they get all the money to make all those changes?? Nonetheless I am wholly excited for the school I loved but never graduated from. Feels kind of like James River High. I feel a sense of loyalty to it, although I shouldn’t because I technically didn’t graduate there. We basically spent 11-5pm walking. At 5 I just had to break down and tell them that my foot just couldn’t take it anymore. Note that this was the Saturday after I went to the doctor’s for the sudden swelling 10 days after the sting. I had such a good time seeing people again. I’m so glad I did it. It’s amazing to see that after all the years, the experiences in between, and all that, everyone stayed pretty much the same. We picked up where we left off and it felt like old times again. :) This was the first time I’d ever left Gable overnight, so when I came home I didn’t know what to expect from him. It was only a day, but the moment I walked in the door, he came barreling down the stairs all the way to the door (he usually stays at the top of the stairs and waits for me to come up) whining and snuffling and being generally adorable. He circled my legs like a cat and kept rubbing his head on my hands…I think it’s safe to say that he missed me. The rest of the day saw him following me everywhere as if to say, never leave me again, you!

Speaking of foot, the results of Thursday’s doctor’s visit and follow-up ultrasound were good! Or better, should I say. This time the radiologist himself came in to talk to me. He looked at my foot, asked me some questions, and then concluded that I should keep taking the antibiotics and let the foot naturally heal. The official report (as I heard on the phone today from the PCP) said that there is no “drainable abscess.” When he talked to me I could see him jumping back and forth in his head about the treatment, before telling me that the area is a very dangerous area to try and drain. This time I was able to see in the ultrasound an actual cavity in my foot. The first time it was either unreadable to me or the cavity was so large it was hard to make out, just like the first radiologist told me. It’s so cool to actually see the hole up on the screen. Neato stuff, man!! So, the bottom line is, yes I technically have an abscess in my foot, but it is diminishing naturally and being controlled by antibiotics so I don’t need it drained; not that they want to try anyways unless it’s an emergency because of the delicate nature of the area. Yessss. AND the optometrist said that my prescription has stayed exactly the same. Double yessss!!

In other news I somehow managed to max out a credit card. Boooo. I was in a spending mood this past weekend. Bad!!! So I went down to the house on Saturday, with Gable this time, with one goal in mind: eliminate crab grass! Stunningly gorgeous weather made the chore of digging up crabgrass by hand not so unbearable. In fact, it might have been downright enjoyable if not for the exhaustion and wrist pain. Thank goodness for the weed tool I was using! I went 9:30-1pm straight digging up the blasted things just in the front of the house. Sounds like hell, except when I was done my yard was no longer the eyesore of the street. It looked like I had just mowed the lawn! It’s that sad: I grow weeds not grass. Needless to say, the lawn needs a ton of work, money and time to get it to a strong healthy state.  I know what needs to be done, but getting there is the hard part. At least the seeds I planted at the townhouse have begun to grow. Now if only I can accomplish the same thing on 15 times the plot of land. >_<

All my muscles ache like the dickens!!!

Leave a comment