The Grim Reaper

So on top of being in a bad mood…or was the bad mood in anticipation of this…I just found out that another one of my patients has passed away. One that only I have seen. Very nice and finally started opening up to me. She was relatively young (60s) so I was snooping online but couldn’t find a reason. So depressing. Before we were sure I was looking on obituaries and my boss joked that I was obsessed with looking for deaths. 

I know it comes with the territory but it really never gets easier. You get emotionally invested in your patients. My consolation is that maybe I was able to give to them some happiness while they are in my chair…since most people fear coming to the dentist. 

I just wish my favorite patients would stop dying suddenly. Or patients just stop dying after they see me.

Leave a Reply

