Missing My Craftsman Electric Starter Key

This past weekend I found myself in a dilemma of sorts. Drove down an hour to my home away from home with a new lawnmower only to discover that I’d forgotten the safety start key along with the bag and the side discharge.

I have a “WORX WG788 19-Inch 36 Volt Cordless 3-In-1 Lawn Mower With Removable Battery & IntelliCut” bought from Amazon in March of 2013. The battery lasted me 3 years of improper use, charge and storage. Well it went kaput so after much deliberation between a riding mower and another cordless electric, I went with the latter for finances and emissions. In the end I decided on the “Craftsman 40V Electric Mower” with lithium max battery instead of the old heavy lead acid of the Worx. Came with 2 batteries!

Anyways after realizing my boo-boo I started a furious internet search for a replacement key because I refused to drive another 2 hours back and forth to get it…only to come up extremely frustrated because I couldn’t find ANYTHING. At all. I guess no one else has lost it??? So I wandered around for about an hour to different stores hoping I could get it or at least the Black & Decker version since they’re almost identical. NOTHING. But I really wanted to cut the grass so I went to Wal-Mart and bought some 3 gauge auto wire. Working off the assumption that the safety key is literally just to finish the circuit (and that a potato would work even) I cut about 3 inches, stripped the ends and jammed it in… the moment of truth and WHOOOOP it WORKED.

**So there you have it. If you ever run into the same dilemma, that’s a quick fix… Considering it was the first time I’d ever used the lawn mower, the batteries seemed to die quite quickly…I’m not sure if the wire had any extra drain on the unit or what long term effects it might have detrimentally, so I would, of course, recommend getting your hands on the real part, but for my short-term needs it was perfect. **

Pictures for you:

20160515_084458

The Safety Key of which I speak

20160515_08450620160514_104236_HDR

20160514_133240_HDR

Piece of wire to finish the circuit

20160514_133248_HDR

Leave a Reply

