July 4th!

I’m here down south at my abode! Sister is at work and my brother in law is taking a shower after mowing the lawn. We celebrated July 4th yesterday with my mom and brother who went home afterwards yesterday. With having the week off, I’m sad that it’s already Saturday and that a week has passed so quickly. I’m tying this on the Mac because I figured I needed to turn it on at some point. Electronics. It’s kind of weird being here with my BIL. **whaaat would you want with a waaaaabit???** It’s just a little awkward, but mostly we kind of do our own things. This morning I managed to finish the rest of  my list of yard work goals. Actually come to think of it, I think I’ve been doing something physical 90% of this break! Nothing beats the feeling of accomplishment and physical exertion. Heh heh. Finally managed to weed, fix the stones and fill with topsoil my little plant bed thing next to the patio. It looks less like an unmanaged project and more like something that adds value to the house. Fixed and added more grasses to the back, complete with mulch, tried to fix the left corner with the older grasses which had become completely overrun with weeds. Planted the black-eye susans, asiatic lilies and the bleeding heart from my grandpa. There’s now a splash of color up front, no bags of soil/mulch just sitting around, much less weeds, and trimmed back those blasted juniper. Originally the scope was larger to where I was supposed to run around with weed killer for the lawn and insecticide for the plants (freakin’ Japanese beetles have obliterated my apple trees), but I’m tired and it would prohibit my pups from being able to lay outside which they absolutely love. Liana is very much at home here. Gable treats it like a vacation home. In his eyes his home is up north. And considering that there is much less weeds than last year (so much rain that the grass hasn’t died much, AND I put down weed killer) I’m good with that.

So I spent the morning playing more Xenoblade. I’ve now managed to get farther than in the original Wii game!!! Woooooo I have a good chance of actually finishing the game before the next one comes out! As much as I complained about the lack of language choice in the 3DS one and the graphics suffered a bit, I love the portability. In fact, I was taking a playbuzz quiz on what type of gamer I am and there was a question about which platform you prefer. Well, when I really think about it, I couldn’t deny that my favorite always has been: handheld. The convenience is overpowering and allows for better immersion than TV consoles in my opinion…regardless of lack of as much content and graphic quality. I contend now what I always have and that is, when it boils down to it, story, gameplay, and side quests trump everything else to me. It really doesn’t matter what it looks like.

OH. Yeah what I was getting to the whole time (sorry, the Mac’s Firefox browser only allows me to see at most 4 lines of this post so it’s hard for me to remember what I was writing in the past without stopping to scroll up) was that after the Xenoblade, I sat outside and soaked in a few rays with the dogs, then came in and played guitar until my left callous-free fingers couldn’t take it anymore. Found some old papers on my shelf and opened on in particular. Read about a book I’d read in 6th grade english and stumbled across a stack of old diary/journal entries! Apparently I used to literally use a 3-ring binder to record my feelings, experiences and such. Here’s a random entry:

9/9/04 – This room is incredibly cold. I just came from orchestra and I think that I need more practice if I want to score a good char in the audition on Monday. Well I here I am in English class. The only one in my row. Of course. That’s what I hate about school., now that remember why  [sic]. People just aren’t too incredibly nice. But then I guess it’s partly my fault since I never say anything. Probably only 3 classes do I really feel comfortable in: Orchestra, Japanese, and accounting. All my non-high level core classes. Of course. They’re a lot nicer if you don’t know who the people around you are. Maybe I’m too quiet. I don’t know. But I do wish I could be more self-confident.

Suddenly I remember why I wrote these. This was my 12 grade English class and the teacher would have us take the first 10 minutes of class to write anything we want. Of course I would treat it like a journal. I remember looking forward to writing about my troubles and experiences. Great job Mrs….I don’t remember. lol. I just know she was related to a guy  named Josh Gerardo who went to my church. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I continued it into my first year of college! That was the beginning of my senior year of high school (you can tell how much I enjoyed it…) So, here’s an excerpt from college:

11/11/05 – It happened again this morning. Right after I came back from my bio test. A friend from a long time ago instant messaged me. He asked me about his ex-girlfriend and wanted me to find something out about her. It turned out that she got a new boyfriend. from there he asked me what he should do. He still had feelings for her and couldn’t get over it. Myself, I have absolutely no relationship experience at all, but as usual, I went into therapist mode and told him what I thought – basically giving him advice. in the end, he left teling me that I really helped him by telling him the things I did and that I was a really good friend. I felt really good about that, but afterwards I was amazed once again.  It seems that people enjoy asking me for relationship advice, eventhough I don’t know anything about it. This is probably the 4 or 5 time this has happened.

Darn I wish I had written a name down. I have no recollection of this/those experience(s). Reading back on old journal entries are so much fun…I really think I should continue to keep a hand-written  journal. There are just things that I can’t post on here because, yes, I do realize that this is public for the whole internet to see. Also, there’s something about hand-written that more is therapeutic than typing. It is slower, but it feels more…intimate? It’s good for our useless, weakened arm/hand muscles too. Maybe before bed every night. Similar to reading an honest to goodness paper book as opposed to a digital copy. Yeah. I like that. Whenever I get on here I’m all over the place and can’t properly convey what I wish to in the little time I normally allow myself.

Time to read these through!

Have a great 4th of July everyone!

…stupid Mac

Leave a Reply

