More snow!

Strange….this was supposed to have published on New Year’s… So….yeah. Posting now…

It’s snowing again! And I’m cold. I’m not one to complain about the weather usually…in fact I love the contrast of cold and warm seasons. However, I am tired of freezing temperatures!!! I reallllly don’t like 15 degree temperature. For once in my life, I will say, I am tired of winter!!

January 31, 2014 was the new Lunar Year! It’s the year of horse this year!!! My sister came up and we went to this this big old thing with lots of family at y great-aunt’s house. Lots of food and singing and fun. Probably one of the most fun I’ve had in a while for the holiday…even though we came late and missed most of it. Our family has gone cheap over the years so everyone gets lottery tickets these days instead of li xi bags. I won $12 which was the most of the celebration this year. Yay. Man, I just realized that I didn’t put up any decorations this year! I guess it kind of crept up on us.

Saturday my sister dragged me around to different stores (and I ended up buying things not her, PLUS I almost died when crazy Korean Lady decided not to stop at a 3-way stop. I didn’t see her until my sister noticed…man that could’ve been a crash on our New Year’s celebration no-less) and I ended up buying the rest of the materials to make my puppies some horsie costumes. I came up with the idea not too long ago when we were thinking about the upcoming year of the horse. It was so fitting because my greyhounds look like little horses, so I figured, why not? I had no idea what I was doing, and just winged it. Turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself. I meant to style the manes when I finished, but never got around to it. Liana looks like a pony and Gable looks a bit like a young lion. I made a tail for Liana, but I couldn’t figure out how to make it stay on, so I didn’t bother to make one for Gable. If I ever want to make this into a full-fledged costume in the future, then I’d have to make the saddle and saddlecloth and then connect the mane and tails to that. Add some ribbon reins and voila, a horse costume! Haha. Dontcha love spur of the moment ideas? I was happy to be able to stretch my creative muscles again. Feels good. It felt so good, in fact, that I think I’m going to start trying to do the Samus arm cannon and helmet soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You know what else feels really good? Reading a book. An honest to goodness real life, non-electric book.

So we started a tradition last year-ish that we each do fortune sticks. This year I am destined for a happy life and I will come upon unexpected money, but also hard work. It tells me to stay away from alcohol, and that overall I will have good fortune. I’ve had 2 fortunes this year that tell me this is a good year for love. Durr.

I have no money. I have no idea how I’m going to survive living on my own on a reduced income. I can’t save anything, it’s ridiculous. It’s one thing after another!! Always!! Sigh. Don’t be a homeowner, folks, unless you’re prepared to be broke or break even constantly. I HATE being in debt. Hate, hate, hate. …and it’s all because of Christmas. I’m still reeling from that, with the addition of Liana on top of everything. I mean, she didn’t physically cost me anything to adopt, but beds, vet bills, medications, etc. Plus the increased cost of food.

I wish that money wasn’t a big deal for me. I guess I could always find a partner to help shoulder the costs of living. Buying and owning a house would be so much easier with 2 incomes.

Check out my yearly Tet picture! It has special meaning to me beyond the fact that it’s welcoming the new year. :)\

 

Leave a Reply

