Dog week

Gable came back from the vet with his grandma yesterday with positive news. They put him on an anti-inflammatory and said that if in a week he doesn’t get better, then to have him come back for an x-ray, though they don’t suspect anything. Grandma had a glowing review of his behavior there…great news. So glad it wasn’t anything expensive serious. He was full of energy yesterday which bodes badly because the vet said that he is only allowed to go potty and come straight back home…especially because his grandma is taking him down south with her by Thursday when the sofa is supposed to arrive. I was planning on heading down Thursday after work because I’m off Friday, but the way the schedule at work looks right now, I’ll be lucky to even make it home to begin with–not to mention the immense level of traffic to sit through that far west. I’d go later like my brother usually does, but I can not stay awake for the life of me. If he’s not taking Friday off and therefore be able to take me Thursday night, then I’ll just leave very early Friday morning. I have no trouble waking up to drive anywhere.

Speaking of dogs, last Saturday saw me take Gable over to my grandparent’s house for a play date with my cousin the Doberman. My uncle is always always travelling somewhere and is currently in Europe for 3 weeks, which leave the poor pup with my grandparents pretty much every week. Even when he’s at home, I don’t think he really spends too much time with the boy. Gable and Tristan had met each other once before already, so I had no qualms about letting them both meet up. Gable had been showing all the signs of wanting to play with other dogs, so I figure it was good to try again. To be honest, it was better that my uncle wasn’t there because he has a tendency to become anxious which would throw off the dynamics of meetup. The first thing that got me was Tristan’s significant decline in obedience since I used to live with him 2 years ago. The more I watched him, the more concerned I became that the lack of exercise was wrecking havoc in his psyche. He was a bundle of energy and therefore emotions all out of whack and out of control. He couldn’t sit still for the life of him, and insecurity oozed from every lift of the paw. I had brought one of Gable’s martingale collars and leashes, and the boy was afraid when I tried to put it on him!!! Dogs love collars! It took me probably 5-10minutes to wrestle him and then he became confused on it. I intended to walk the 2 dogs together to help them bond, but it became apparent that Tristan’s mental state was far more important than getting them to play with each other (Gable still has no idea how to play with other dogs…or at least with crazy dogs…) so I left my calm boy behind and went to walk Tristan out of his frenzy. I had completely forgotten how STRONG he can be, so that took some getting used to, but it didn’t help at all that he had absolutely no leash manners. I tried to correct that right away, but he didn’t understand/didn’t want to and became afraid when I tried to physically push him into the position I wanted him to be in…as if I’d hit him??? Not too far in, I decided he was going to burst, so I ran him for as long as I could manage (I am way out of shape). It was only after that we made progress. He calmed down enough to follow some of my instructions (and to start marking like dogs do), and by the end I had made unbelievable progress, although there was plenty more to achieve. By the time I left, he was actually following my simple commands.

In regards to the dynamic between the 2 pups, I decided that even though they weren’t actively playing together, they definitely were getting along well because Tristan would follow alpha Gable everywhere and Gable was actually allowing him to. They were getting along just fine!! The next step would be to walk both together on leashes and for them to relax near each other.

I can’t stress enough the irritation I feel for those who have dogs and have no time for them. It’s just like having kids to have kids. If you know you’re not going to be around that much, then you get a dog with no need for lots of energy, not a Doberman, not a Shepherd, nor any of the “cool-looking” dogs. The immense frustration these dogs get from the lack of energy expenditure is just pure torture for them. It’s lucky that Tristan is a goofball because many time it translates into aggression or destruction.

WALK YOUR DOGS, PEOPLE!!!

Leave a Reply

