Here:

This is a pic of the Phi Beta Kappa certificate thing with my honor cords.

Yesterday in Latin Dr. Houghtalin popped in the middle of class to announce to the whole class (btw, just so you realize my nerdiness, I couldn’t think of the work “announce” right away. Instead I remembered the latin word “nuntio”  instead…) that I had gotten honorary mention in the National Eta Sigma Phi sight-translation competition.  Of course in my perfectionist ways I heard “honorary mention” and didn’t like it already, but I also didn’t realize the scope of the award (same with PBK *sigh*) until I received the email today listing all the winners in the country. In the country. I was like, ehhHHHHHHH?? When I received it in class I was totally embarrassed instead and I hope I didnt receive it ungraciously–especially since I turned down Eta Sigma Phi the Beta Nu chapter’s invitation to join. I did so because first off I’m not going to be here next year, plus I could only afford to join one honor society. They all cost too much.

So here’s a photo of the award in total Latin, of course:

I’m proud of my accomplishments (which, btw puts more weight on the argument ppl keep giving me about only going for dental hygiene when I am potentially capable of better)  but I don’t like flaunting them, because even when people tell me I should disclose this sort of information more often, I find that when I do it makes others feel less well about themselves, or jealous or more distanced and whatnot. I’ve def seen that–or at least think i’ve seen that. I mean, what do you tell someone who’s like, I got into this and this and this honor society, oh and I got this and this award and btw I think I have a 4.0 GPA?? yeeeeah.

So I guess i’ll just save it for resume’s and parents and stuff. Below is a copy of the email I was given today :)

Winners of the 2008 Eta Sigma Phi

Maurine  Dallas  Watkins Sight Translation Contests

 

Congratulations to our own Susan and Courtney!

 

59th Annual Greek Translation Contest

Advanced Greek

1st  Nicholas Kauffman, Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

2nd Dhananjay Jagannathan, Gamma Sigma at the University of Texas at Austin

3rd Lorin Bird, Epsilon Kappa at Brigham Young University

 

Intermediate Greek

1st  Maggie Hoyt, Epsilon Kappa at Brigham Young University

2nd Jody Lent, Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

3rd Tyler Fyotch, Eta Mu at the University of California, Davis

Honorable Mentions Susan Drummond, Beta Nu at the University of Mary Washington

Kevin Moore, Delta Chi at St. Olaf College

 

Koine Greek

1st  Katie Becker, Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

2nd David Spencer, Eta Mu at the University of California, Davis

3rd Kjerstin Ostlind, Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

 

58th Annual Latin Translation Contest

Advanced Latin

1st Thomas Halvorsen, Delta Chi at St. Olaf College

2nd Maggie Hoyt, Epsilon Kappa at Brigham Young University

3rd Kirk Gabriel Fetcher, Eta at Florida State University

Honorable Mentions Megan Campbell, Gamma Sigma at the University of Texas at Austin

Kjerstin Ostlind, Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

 

Intermediate Latin

1st  Jonathan D. Kandelshein, Gamma Delta at Yeshiva University

2nd Martin Pyper Shedd, Delta Chi at St. Olaf College

 3rd Regina M. Loehr, Eta Zeta at Truman State University

Honorable Mentions Courtney Do, Beta Nu at the University of Mary Washington

Deepti Menon, Eta Mu at the University of California, Davis

 

42nd  Annual Latin Prose Composition Contest

Advanced Prose Composition

1st  Thomas Halvorsen, Delta Chi at St. Olaf College

2nd Lisa York, Delta Chi at St. Olaf College

3rd Kyle Helms, Epsilon Iota at the University of Florida

Honorable Mentions Ellen Cole, Gamma Sigma at the University of Texas at Austin

Heather Outland, Gamma Omega at Baylor University