Post-Date #4

I’m back! Dogs are fed (gave them some soup from Panera. Totally spoiled) and I am happy. It’s always a plus to not feel relieved a date is over. Let’s start from the top.

While I was picking a tshirt to wear (too tight, makes me look fat, just right!) I received a call and it turns out to be date #4 asking which Panera to come to. Then I head out there early because I was afraid he’d go to the wrong one. He arrives while I wait at a table outside and my first reaction was, “oh wow.” Not good. YOu know how pictures can be totally misleading? Oh yeah. Initial judgment = not attractive, weird way of holding himself, weird speech pattern. We order food (all my dates so far have been wonderful about holding doors and making sure to pay for me) and pick a table. He takes drinks from every flavor on the machine, but he gets my food for me too. I’m apprehensive for pre-mentioned reasons. Then surprisingly he relaxes, I relax and the conversation just flows. Like, instantly flows. His weird quirks suddenly disappear or become unnoticeable. Laughter comes easily and we jump from subject to subject with no real breaks. Much of our conversation has already been mentioned before, but clarified again. I actually begin to feel awkward and somewhat nervous. Usually I’m in control! Wuuut.

I don’t have much else to say, because it was mostly very enjoyable. Pleasant surprise, it was, to be able to be so comfortable talking. I noticed a few things we don’t necessarily agree on, but so far no big deterrents. If nothing else, he’d be fun to continue talking to or to hang out with again. He invited me to try going camping with him or kayaking or something. I’ve never been and would actually like to go. He’s the guy who has his own house, bought his own car, and is pretty much in the same path of life as I am. He admitted to being into online dating for about a year now, and while I can also see why he’s been unable to find someone, he reminds me very much of my friend in college. This is more of the guy I was looking for: nerdy, but to TOO bad, while being versatile, and demonstrates responsibility with his own hard earned properties, while all at the same time being close to his family. Plus, he’s in the same area my house is in. He’s not much on the eyes or for a good for impression, but his heart is in the right place. Already I think our political views and certain life morals are not in line (darn), but I’m getting closer! And I don’t think I’ll ever find the PERFECT, ideal guy.

Good experience and I would for certain want to see him again. I’m getting experienced with these dates!! lol.

In the dog world, I took the plunge and moved the Dobie’s bed up with the other two (far apart, of course). He paced around for a good 10 minutes, unsure if it’s ok, but I made him lie down and now he’s snoring. :) Day 4. It can only get better from here.

No more dates planned this week! Thank goodness. I’m glad to finally be able to weed people out. Someone at work told me it’s like a second job date-searching and she is totally right. Now I have time to devote to cleaning the house since he grands are coming Thursday night. My brother comes tomorrow night I think. I dread the grandparents only because all the improvements I’ve made in Dobie will backslide the moment they get in the picture. They create nervous energy and were one of the main causes of his insanity. Also, my grandpa does not agree with the way I discipline dogs so he likes to take things into his own hands, usually undoing all my hard work. My only salvation would be if the Dobie trusts me and me alone as the supreme pack leader. I’ve made strides to have him come back in the house when called, finally. Usually it had me drag him back in, but I got the bright idea of pretending to leave with the other 2 on the walk with him still in the back yard. It worked. That’s what happens when you don’t come in when I call–you miss out. For some reason he views the house as a punishment while the backyard is a treat. I had to make them equally good. My 2 understand that. They love the yard, but you can only pee on so many things, plus it’s hot. Inside has soft beds (the Dobie isn’t that used to nice beds since he doesn’t have them at his house…we had to buy one for him at my grandparents’ house…I gave him a blanket too which my uncle and grandparents are afraid to give him because he’s been known to rip them. But from boredom! He’s been loving the one I gave him), food, A/C, and the ever looming possibility of a car ride!!!

I’ve been hooked on Mass Effect 2, but having spent literally all day yesterday playing it, I felt today needed some productivity. Managed to sketch a post for RW. Production! One of my friends mentioned that she felt like all she does is consume and consume, never contributing anything of her own and I’ve been thinking about that too myself. I posted once before on how my generation only, well, consumes, and doesn’t create new things, hence the lack of hover cars or good movies or good books or anything ground breaking for that matter. We’re doomed if that’s the case and I’d like for myself not to fall in the same pit. Create new things! Write! Bring new ideas to the plate! Then I had a friend once who wanted so badly to change the world, but felt like she couldn’t. Remember, though, that you area–you always are, in everything you do or say to people. Every decision you make can impact the future for someone and the culminating effect is immense! You might just be one person, but your one connection could eventually effect the world!! There’s no way to ever know if you had a hand in creating the next big technology in the most miniscule-ly indirectly as possible, but believe it! Think about that!!! That degrading comment you made to that nobody could prevent the cure for cancer, and vice versa, that uplifting and empowering praise could encourage the birth of the next Einstein!

How did a post about my date turn into that?? LOL

3 thoughts on “Post-Date #4

  1. TheCatssMeoww says:

    Games will suck you in. Its so sad that after I bought my XBOX One my time spent indoors quadrupled. Yay for good dates. After a few crazy ones its nice to have one work out.

    Like

    • aowam says:

      It’s inherent in the online dating world…we’re all on there because for some reason or another we can’t hit it off in real life. lol. And yes, I try to spend less and less time playing because I always feel like I’ve wasted valuable time I can’t get back. Then again, they’re ridiculously enjoyable. I’m thankful my dogs are there to force me away, though.

      Like

  2. sirosoup says:

    That’s great! I don’t ever believe “Mr. Perfect” is out there…we’d be searching forever. A partner should compliment some part of your life that you can’t provide yourself and makes you a better version of yourself. And there’s also that unexplainable thing called chemistry.

    Like

Leave a comment